Frequently Asked Questions
An assessment is a percentage of the market value of your property against which tax millage is applied. In Monroe County the assessment percentage (known as the pre determined ratio) is 25%.
What is meant by the term millage?
Millage is 1/1000th of a dollar. To derive your tax dollars you multiply your assessment by the mileage. For example: if your assessment is 20,000 and the mileage for your district is 80 (20,000 X .080 mills), then your tax bill is $1,600.
Who sets the mileage rate?
Each taxing district sets its own mileage rate every year after it determines how much money it needs to operate.
What are the taxing districts in Monroe County?
There are four: The county, township, library and school. The county, township and library operate on a calendar year basis. The school operates on a fiscal year basis, that is, July 1 through June 30th.
Does the Assessment Office collect the taxes?
No. The taxes are collected by tax collectors who are elected every four years by voters within their townships.
When do I receive my tax bills?
The county, township, and library tax bill comes out on March 1st and that is for the calendar year; the school tax bill is mailed on August 1st and covers the fiscal tax year July1 through June 30th.
What constitutes my property assessment?
In Pennsylvania land and buildings, or improvements attached to the land, are subject to taxation.
How does the Assessment Office determine my property value?
When improvements are made to a property, a field assessor does a physical inspection of the site and takes outside measurements of the structure. Those measurements along with other features such as fireplaces, bathrooms, & heat type are entered into the computer in accordance with values established at the last county wide reassessment.
What happens if a building is razed?
You should notify the assessment office as soon as possible. An assessor will field check to verify the building is down and prorate the assessment for the balance of the tax year.
Are mobile homes taxable?
Yes. Mobile homes are taxable as real estate if they are in any connected to water, gas, electric, or sewer.
Do I have to notify anyone before I move my mobile home?
Yes. You have to obtain a Trailer Removal Permit from your local tax collector. Failure to do so carries a $100.00 fine.
Who do I notify if I sell my mobile home?
Please notify the assessment office with the new owner's name and address.
Who do I notify if my mailing address changes?
You should notify the Assessment Office in writing as soon as possible. This is important and should be done as soon as possible. According to Pennsylvania law, you are still responsible to pay your real estate taxes even if you do not receive your tax bill. The change of address notice must be signed by the property owner. Download change of address form ...
What can I do if I feel my property is over assessed?
You must file a written intention to appeal with the Board of Assessment Appeals identifying the assessment you want to appeal, the property code number and the address you want the Board to send you notice to appear for a hearing. You will receive an Assessment Appeal form which must be completed and returned to the Assessment Office within 10 days.
What is the filing deadline?
If you receive an Assessment Change Notice, you have 40 days from the date the notice was mailed to file an appeal. Otherwise, you can file an appeal on or before September 1st of any year for the following year.
How much does it cost to file an appeal?
The cost of a residential appeal is $25.00 per parcel and $50.00 per parcel for commercial/industrial properties.
What do I bring to my appeal hearing?
The burden of proof is on the property owner at an assessment appeal hearing. It is important that you provide the Board with pertinent documentation, such as appraisals, comparable sales of similar homes, cost of the construction, pictures or wetland and non-perk data. If an appraisal is used, the appraisal must be submitted 10 days before the hearing date, and the appraiser should be at the hearing to answer any questions about the appraisal.
What home improvements are not assessed?
The following are some normal maintenance and repair jobs you can do to your property without increasing your assessment: 1) painting outside or inside, 2) repairing and replacing existing masonry, 3) replacing plumbing and light fixtures, 4) landscaping, 5) replacing a roof, 6) new exterior siding (except stone and brick).
What home improvements are assessed?
For your comfort and resale value you may want to make substantial improvements to your home. The following are examples of improvements that will increase your property assessment:
1) creating additional living space, 2) renovating an unfinished basement or attic, 3) adding an extra bath, porch, deck or patio, 4) adding a garage, 5) outbuildings or shed 10ft by 10ft and larger, 6) complete modernization and conversion of a home.